Book Reviews, Books, Mini Book Reviews, Quick Thoughts, Uncategorized

Book Review | The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker

Copy of we will be

36373564

SYNOPSIS

Calla Fletcher wasn’t even two when her mother took her and fled the Alaskan wild, unable to handle the isolation of the extreme, rural lifestyle, leaving behind Calla’s father, Wren Fletcher, in the process. Calla never looked back, and at twenty-six, a busy life in Toronto is all she knows. But when Calla learns that Wren’s days may be numbered, she knows that it’s time to make the long trip back to the remote frontier town where she was born.

She braves the roaming wildlife, the odd daylight hours, the exorbitant prices, and even the occasional—dear God—outhouse, all for the chance to connect with her father: a man who, despite his many faults, she can’t help but care for. While she struggles to adjust to this rugged environment, Jonah—the unkempt, obnoxious, and proud Alaskan pilot who helps keep her father’s charter plane company operational—can’t imagine calling anywhere else home. And he’s clearly waiting with one hand on the throttle to fly this city girl back to where she belongs, convinced that she’s too pampered to handle the wild.

Jonah is probably right, but Calla is determined to prove him wrong. Soon, she finds herself forming an unexpected bond with the burly pilot. As his undercurrent of disapproval dwindles, it’s replaced by friendship—or perhaps something deeper? But Calla is not in Alaska to stay and Jonah will never leave. It would be foolish of her to kindle a romance, to take the same path her parents tried—and failed at—years ago. It’s a simple truth that turns out to be not so simple after all.

GOODREADS

AMAZON | B&N | Google Play 

ELECTRONîCA

Collage 2018-09-12 22_12_12A breath of fresh air.

Set in the picturesque background of Alaska and seeing it through Calla’s eyes was certainly a fun experience. Also new and unfamiliar to the place, her sense of wonderment and puzzlement consumed me to the core and made me feel like I’m exploring it alongside with her. I love how the striking differences between the simple Alaska and fast-paced city life were described so well in the book. Alaska may be years behind in terms of advancement but the sense of contentment & community unquestionably makes up for it.

Continue reading “Book Review | The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker”

Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal: Gentleman Nine by Penelope Ward

PWGentlemanNineBookCover5x8_HIGHGENTLEMAN NINE by Penelope Ward
(A standalone)
Release date: 2/19/2018

SYNOPSIS

From New York Times bestselling author Penelope Ward, comes a new, sexy standalone
novel.

Growing up, the three of us were friends.

He was the nerd.
I was the playboy.
She was the beauty.

Deep down, I only ever wanted her. I kept it inside because Rory and I made a pact that our friend, Amber, was off-limits.
He lied.

I went off to college, and he got the girl.
Amber never knew how I felt.
They were together for years—before he broke her heart.

Through it all and across the miles, she and I casually stayed in touch.
When my job sent me to Boston for a three-month contract position, Amber let me stay in her spare room.

Still reeling from her breakup, she’d sworn off men.

One night, I opened her computer to find the shock of my life. She’d hesitantly contacted a male escort company. Afraid to date and get her heart broken again, she was looking for sex with no strings.

Every emotion imaginable ran through me: protectiveness, jealousy—curiosity.
Amber had chosen Gentleman Number Nine and sent him a message.

She opened up to him, confessing, among other things, her physical attraction to her friend—me. But she considered me off-limits—and she thought I was a manwhore. (Ironic, considering the circumstances.)

Eventually, she set up a date to meet Gentleman Nine at a hotel.
When she showed up several nights later to meet him, she got the surprise of her life to see me standing there—with an offer I hoped she wouldn’t refuse.

iBooks  | Amazon Paperback Preorder
Add to Goodreads

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Gentleman Nine by Penelope Ward”

Cover Reveal

Cover Reveal: The Beau & The Belle by R.S. Grey

CR RS1

TB&TBEbookCoverAbout THE BEAU & THE BELLE

Beau Fortier starred in most of my cringe-worthy teenage fantasies.

I met him when I was a junior in high school, a time that revolved exclusively around bad hair, failed forays into flirting, and scientific inquiries into which brand of toilet paper worked best for stuffing bras.

That is, until Beau moved into the small guest house just beyond my bedroom window.

A 24-year- old law student at Tulane, Beau was as mysterious to me as second base (both in baseball and in the bedroom). He was older. Intimidating. Hot. Boys my age had chicken legs and chubby cheeks. Beau had calloused hands and a jaw cut from steel. Our interactions were scarce—mostly involving slight stalking on my end—and yet deep down, I desperately hoped he saw me as more of a potential lover than a lovesick loser.

Turns out, I was fooling myself. My fragile ego learned that lesson the hard way.

Now, ten years later, we’re both back in New Orleans, and guess who suddenly can’t take his eyes off little ol’ me.

My old friend, Mr. Fortier.

But things have changed. I’m older now—poised and confident. My ego wears a bulletproof vest. The butterflies that once filled my stomach have all perished.

When I was a teenager, Beau warned me to guard my heart.

Let’s hope he knows how to guard his.

Add THE BEAU & THE BELLE on GOODREADS

THE BEAU & THE BELLE releases February 1st – you’ll be able to preorder your copy for .99c beginning January 29th! Keep an eye on R.S. Grey’s facebook page for the link.

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: The Beau & The Belle by R.S. Grey”

Chinese Drama, Ramblings

Chinese Web Drama Review: A Love So Beautiful

p2497830400Far from being the drama with the most mind blowing and unique plot out there, A Love So Beautiful (ALSB) still boasts a coming-of-age story that ultimately touches friendship, evolution of love and reaching for one’s dreams in life.

A Love So Beautiful synopsis as provided by MyDramaList: “It starts off with high school classmates Chen Xiao Xi and Jiang Chen who are also neighbors. Xiao Xi, a cheerful girl who doesn’t study much, is expressive about her admiration towards Jiang Chen, the popular guy known for his looks and high grades. Together with their fellow classmates the funny Lu Yang, athletic but loyal Jingjing, and cool swimming team member Wu Bo Song, they embark on high school life to university until their adult life.

It has been along time since I’ve watched a drama outside of my Korean drama scope and so I don’t really have any expectations going into this. I didn’t insta-like this drama. I even had the watch – pause – back to watching – pause routine and I could take a full day break from continuing on. I think it took three or four episodes for it to fully grab my attention and for me to warm up to it. But once I got my groove and ALSB had finally set it’s roots on me, I just powered through every episode and unconsciously invested more and more of my feels towards the sweethearts, Chen Xiao Xi and Jiang Chen. 

Remember It Started With A Kiss (ISWAK, Itazura Na Kiss), A Crazy Little Thing Called Love, Princess Hours and the recent Korean hit drama, Weightlifting Fairy Kim Bok Joo?  Remember the feels you had when you watched those? A Love So Beautiful sure did remind me of those dramas, not exactly because of their plots but I noticed tidbits of their story elements splashed through. Though, most especially It Started With A Kiss. When I started watching ALSB, for a second I thought that it’s a remake of ISWAK because that’s how unmissable their similarities are. It was later on that I knew that ALSB is actually an adaptation of the novel, To Our Pure Little Beauty by Zhao Gangan.

As I didn’t have any expectations, I found myself impressed with its cinematography. For a web drama, I do believe that they did really well with its treatment. The color palette or the tone that they used fits the mood, even the year in which the specific part of the story line was set. Every shot was nice, captured the vibe and enhanced the scene even more. Though, I noticed some transition shots that repetitively appeared and I snickered at that. 

ALSB 1

When most dramas of today are wooing us over with complex plot lines, here comes A Love So Beautiful dangling us with its clíched romcom in which Shen Yue (Chen Xiao Xi) and Hu Yi Tian’s (Jiang Chen) pairing making the drama fresh. With 23 episodes in total (me thinks, they could’ve compressed it more), the story could get dragging and frustrating af (because what can you really expect from a tsundere (aloof) male character???) but the story’s build up and the progress of their love line makes staying put worth it. 

Continue reading “Chinese Web Drama Review: A Love So Beautiful”

Book Reviews

Book Review: Nowhere But Here by Renée Carlino

NBH Review

18280662

SYNOPSIS

A Chicago reporter in her mid-twenties unexpectedly finds love in Napa Valley when she’s assigned to spend a week with a famously reclusive genius.

Kate Corbin has lost her spark. From the outside, her life seems charmed. She has a handsome, long-term boyfriend and a budding journalism career at a popular Chicago newspaper. But in reality, her relationship is going nowhere, and she’s quickly losing motivation for what she once believed was her dream job. When her boyfriend dumps her unceremoniously, Kate loses all hope of finding love.

With no living family and few friends, Kate confides in her boss. Trusting that the hungry, ace reporter is buried somewhere deep inside, he gives Kate the opportunity to jumpstart her career. The assignment: to interview the famously reclusive R.J. Lawson, a wealthy tech genius who disappeared years ago but recently reemerged as a Napa Valley vintner. The week takes an unexpected turn, however, when Lawson refuses to divulge any information. Desperate for a lead, Kate turns to Jamie, a vineyard hand who shows her the romance of wine country—and stirs her aching heart. But his connection to Lawson is ambiguous, and when Jamie disappears before the end of the week, Kate is left to investigate another story: the truth behind the man who stole her heart.

USA TODAY bestselling author Renée Carlino explored love and heartbreak in her beautifully written debut Sweet Thing, and her newest novel does not disappoint. For fans of Colleen Hoover, K.A. Tucker, and Katja Millay, Nowhere But Here is a stirring and satisfying romance that you won’t want to put down.

GOODREADS

Buy links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks

Review

Nowhere But Here is a book peppered all throughout with beautiful and inspirational messages.

No matter how drama filled this book is and how cheesy some moments get, being able to read and witness Kate’s character blossoming as a person was a wonderful sight. It has a bit of everything thrown in. Life, love, relationships, finding your person and on top of that – being able to find yourself through those experiences, Carlino’s book got you. I laughed and swooned because of Jamie, almost caused me to pull some of my hair out because of Kate and even cringed in some parts of the book because of too much sweetness. Reading Nowhere But Here is such a roller coaster ride.

This book has a great setting and I love how the author wrote about it. Renée Carlino’s description was rich and vibrant, which will make us, readers, feel like being transported to Napa Valley at that specific time frame. It felt like I was right alongside Kate’s character and exploring the place together with them.

Continue reading “Book Review: Nowhere But Here by Renée Carlino”