Book Reviews, Books

Blog Tour | Tequila Tequila by Emma Hart

TT-Live3.jpg

TEQUILA-TEQUILA-NEW

Don’t sleep with your best friend.

Take it from me. I did it. And it was awful.

I-wish-the-tequila-made-me-forget kind of bad.

The problem is, Luke has forgotten. He swears that he can’t remember a thing about that night beyond the trays of tequila shots being set on the tables.

Except I can’t forget. I can’t forget how good his hands felt until I fell over and hit my hip on the dresser, and I sure as hell can’t forget the entire two minutes of tap-tap-squirt.

Awkward. Embarrassing. And the new subject of a couple of dirty lucid dreams.

But I have no intention of telling him what we did. Nothing good comes from telling your best friend he’s the worst guy you’ve ever slept with.

Which makes the tequila on my birthday a very, very bad idea…

ADD TEQUILA TEQUILA ON GOODREADS

Download your copy today!

Amazon | AppleBooks| Amazon Worldwide | Nook | Kobo

 

review

One drunken night. One awkward encounter. With her latest release, Tequila Tequila, Emma Hart brings in a fiery yet doused with a slow burn friends-to-lovers story. I’m weak for this kind of trope and so as expected I breezed through reading this book. Especially with that first chapter. It’s just one of those chapters wherein I know I have to keep going even though it will pain me (lol) to know what will happen to Luke and Aspen and how they’re going to move from such an awkward life event. Awkward yet entertaining for us, readers, and oh the secondhand embarrassment you’ll get from these two.

“Every day, every time I looked at Luke, it seemed like I had a reason to look at him in a new light, and looking at him as anything other than my best friend felt weird. Not wrong, but weird.”

Continue reading “Blog Tour | Tequila Tequila by Emma Hart”

Book Reviews, Books, Mini Book Reviews, Quick Thoughts, Uncategorized

Book Review | The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker

Copy of we will be

36373564

SYNOPSIS

Calla Fletcher wasn’t even two when her mother took her and fled the Alaskan wild, unable to handle the isolation of the extreme, rural lifestyle, leaving behind Calla’s father, Wren Fletcher, in the process. Calla never looked back, and at twenty-six, a busy life in Toronto is all she knows. But when Calla learns that Wren’s days may be numbered, she knows that it’s time to make the long trip back to the remote frontier town where she was born.

She braves the roaming wildlife, the odd daylight hours, the exorbitant prices, and even the occasional—dear God—outhouse, all for the chance to connect with her father: a man who, despite his many faults, she can’t help but care for. While she struggles to adjust to this rugged environment, Jonah—the unkempt, obnoxious, and proud Alaskan pilot who helps keep her father’s charter plane company operational—can’t imagine calling anywhere else home. And he’s clearly waiting with one hand on the throttle to fly this city girl back to where she belongs, convinced that she’s too pampered to handle the wild.

Jonah is probably right, but Calla is determined to prove him wrong. Soon, she finds herself forming an unexpected bond with the burly pilot. As his undercurrent of disapproval dwindles, it’s replaced by friendship—or perhaps something deeper? But Calla is not in Alaska to stay and Jonah will never leave. It would be foolish of her to kindle a romance, to take the same path her parents tried—and failed at—years ago. It’s a simple truth that turns out to be not so simple after all.

GOODREADS

AMAZON | B&N | Google Play 

ELECTRONîCA

Collage 2018-09-12 22_12_12A breath of fresh air.

Set in the picturesque background of Alaska and seeing it through Calla’s eyes was certainly a fun experience. Also new and unfamiliar to the place, her sense of wonderment and puzzlement consumed me to the core and made me feel like I’m exploring it alongside with her. I love how the striking differences between the simple Alaska and fast-paced city life were described so well in the book. Alaska may be years behind in terms of advancement but the sense of contentment & community unquestionably makes up for it.

Continue reading “Book Review | The Simple Wild by K.A. Tucker”

Book Reviews

Book Review: Nowhere But Here by Renée Carlino

NBH Review

18280662

SYNOPSIS

A Chicago reporter in her mid-twenties unexpectedly finds love in Napa Valley when she’s assigned to spend a week with a famously reclusive genius.

Kate Corbin has lost her spark. From the outside, her life seems charmed. She has a handsome, long-term boyfriend and a budding journalism career at a popular Chicago newspaper. But in reality, her relationship is going nowhere, and she’s quickly losing motivation for what she once believed was her dream job. When her boyfriend dumps her unceremoniously, Kate loses all hope of finding love.

With no living family and few friends, Kate confides in her boss. Trusting that the hungry, ace reporter is buried somewhere deep inside, he gives Kate the opportunity to jumpstart her career. The assignment: to interview the famously reclusive R.J. Lawson, a wealthy tech genius who disappeared years ago but recently reemerged as a Napa Valley vintner. The week takes an unexpected turn, however, when Lawson refuses to divulge any information. Desperate for a lead, Kate turns to Jamie, a vineyard hand who shows her the romance of wine country—and stirs her aching heart. But his connection to Lawson is ambiguous, and when Jamie disappears before the end of the week, Kate is left to investigate another story: the truth behind the man who stole her heart.

USA TODAY bestselling author Renée Carlino explored love and heartbreak in her beautifully written debut Sweet Thing, and her newest novel does not disappoint. For fans of Colleen Hoover, K.A. Tucker, and Katja Millay, Nowhere But Here is a stirring and satisfying romance that you won’t want to put down.

GOODREADS

Buy links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks

Review

Nowhere But Here is a book peppered all throughout with beautiful and inspirational messages.

No matter how drama filled this book is and how cheesy some moments get, being able to read and witness Kate’s character blossoming as a person was a wonderful sight. It has a bit of everything thrown in. Life, love, relationships, finding your person and on top of that – being able to find yourself through those experiences, Carlino’s book got you. I laughed and swooned because of Jamie, almost caused me to pull some of my hair out because of Kate and even cringed in some parts of the book because of too much sweetness. Reading Nowhere But Here is such a roller coaster ride.

This book has a great setting and I love how the author wrote about it. Renée Carlino’s description was rich and vibrant, which will make us, readers, feel like being transported to Napa Valley at that specific time frame. It felt like I was right alongside Kate’s character and exploring the place together with them.

Continue reading “Book Review: Nowhere But Here by Renée Carlino”

Book Reviews

Book Review: Reluctantly Royal by Nichole Chase

rr

18103897

SYNOPSIS

Maxwell Jameson Trevor, prince of Lilaria, hates his royal role. Despising the limelight, he takes solace in his art studio and steers clear of any drama. But when one of the newly discovered royals passes away, Maxwell’s brother Alex asks him to break the news to the old man’s granddaughter. Though he hates to be the bearer of doom and gloom, he doesn’t want the poor girl to find out from the tabloids. For Maxwell knows all too well how devastating that could be.

Coming from a broken home and modest background, newly ordained Lady Meredith Thysmer has seized her chance to make a better life for herself and her son. She’s not afraid to use her best assets to get what she wants. But when the unpretentious yet devastatingly handsome Max delivers his news, her plans for the future come crashing to a halt. In the challenging days ahead, Max’s compassion, humor, and steadfast loyalty to Meredith and her son win her over. She quickly finds herself doing something she swore would never happen again: falling in love. And yet Maxwell still refuses to completely drop his guard. Somehow Meredith’s got to find a way to seduce this reluctant royal.

GOODREADS

Buy links: Amazon | B&N | iBooks

Review

Reluctantly Royal focuses on the story of Max (sibling to Alex and Cathy from the previous books). I love the fact that Max get to have his own book because it feels like the series has now come to a full circle and readers get the chance to read the stories for each sibling. Plus, Max is a very interesting character. He shies away from the spotlight that comes along with him being a prince. That’s like inevitable when you’re a prince, right? Weird but you’ll surely want to know more about the back story of his character.

I enjoyed Reluctantly Royal as much as the other books of the series. The story is narrated from two POVs (Max and Meredith) which is quite a change considering that the first two books were from the voices of the female lead characters. The narration was quite good but it cannot be helped that their voices goes from very distinct to confusing the hell out of me scale on who’s doing the talking on that specific chapter. But all in all, it’s a good attempt in the dual POV scene and it’s great to hear/read from both of our main characters’ point of view. Reading books in dual POVs, feels like the author entrusted you and given you a head start on something. I appreciate that.

Continue reading “Book Review: Reluctantly Royal by Nichole Chase”

Book Reviews

Book Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Slammed

Slammed1

Following the unexpected death of her father, 18-year-old Layken is forced to be the rock for both her mother and younger brother. Outwardly, she appears resilient and tenacious, but inwardly, she’s losing hope.

Enter Will Cooper: The attractive, 21-year-old new neighbor with an intriguing passion for slam poetry and a unique sense of humor. Within days of their introduction, Will and Layken form an intense emotional connection, leaving Layken with a renewed sense of hope.

Not long after an intense, heart-stopping first date, they are slammed to the core when a shocking revelation forces their new relationship to a sudden halt. Daily interactions become impossibly painful as they struggle to find a balance between the feelings that pull them together, and the secret that keeps them apart.

Review

Slammed isn’t the type of book wherein readers just witness how the story of the main characters go (fall in love and suddenly there’s a certain hindrance for them to be able to pursue their love for each other). Colleen Hoover and Slammed gives us more than that.

I’ve read and reviewed Slammed over my previous blog a couple of years back already.  Recently, I had the urge to reread it and I did end up doing it. Thus, the appearance of this book review here.

Slammed didn’t just present us the rainbows and unicorn moments in a person’s life but it reminded us about the most inevitable matter in life, death. Everything about this book is realistic and something that all of us can really easily relate to. We are treated with a front row seat of the highs and lows a family could experience. Portrayals of days wherein a person experiences pure bliss and days wherein life just felt the need to pull the rug under our feet. All we can do is learn and suck it all up.

Continue reading “Book Review: Slammed by Colleen Hoover”